Around the Horn 7/28/17

Ever wonder what’s going on with the top names in the best game in the world? Find out here as we ask the greatest minds in baseball about hot topics from around the league.


Lucas Duda

“Well Terry (Collins, Mets manager) called me into his office and gave me a big ol’ hug. I just figured it was one of his normal hug meetings, but then he started sobbing. Big, heaving sobs. Once he started screaming “Why? Why God, Why?” I knew something had gone down.”

-Lucas Duda, on how he learned he had been traded to the Tampa Bay Rays


Jake Lamb

“Any time I hit a home run, as I’m rounding the bases I violently scream “Out like a Lamb!” at each of the players on the opposing team. I want them to know that I, Jake Lamb, am the one who hit the home run and there’s no better way than to make a joke about it. It keeps the atmosphere light.”

-Jake Lamb, on weird baseball traditions


miguel sano

“I don’t know if you know this, but you don’t actually have to have a twin to play for Minnesota! I was very worried in the minors because I thought maybe I accidentally said that I had one. I didn’t want to upset anyone, so I hired a man to come to family gatherings and pretend to be my brother. It turns out it was all just a misunderstanding and now we’re the best of friends. Hi Jerry!”

-Miguel Sano, on playing for the Minnesota Twins

Leave a comment